The School of Science was established concurrently with Walailak University and embraced these three main purposes:

  • To serve teaching and fundamental science module development for schools to conform to the management of education at Walailak University.
  • To produce graduates in the five disciplines of science: physics, chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and mathematics and statistics.
  • To manage fundamental research and applied science.

Biochemistry was then merged with chemistry and in 2008, computational science was added to enable the school to expand teaching, research, and academic services in this area. In 2013, the faculty has restructured to include a head of the department for each program, with the aim to improve management in accordance with the standards of the Thailand Qualifications Framework (TQF) which requires the four programs of physics, chemistry, biology, and mathematics and statistics).
After the completion of the building construction at Walailak University the first-year undergraduate students were welcomed into the 1998 program, the university began with six schools with the addition of the School of Liberal Arts and School of Science which performed foundational courses.
Today, the main task of the School of Science is to service students in science and mathematics courses both in general education and specific education for students in all programs and schooling. Science students are able to enroll in the following programs:

Bachelor degree:

  1. Bachelor of Science Program in Science
  2. Bachelor of Science Program in Marine Science

Master degrees:

  1. Master Program in Science (International Program)
  2. Master Program in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (International Program)
  3. Master of Science (Physics) (Closed)

Doctoral degrees:

  1. Doctor of Philosophy Program in Science (International Program)
  2. Doctor of Philosophy Program in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (International Program)
  3. Doctor of Philosophy (Physics) (Closed)

The School of Science has joined the program for Development and Promotion of Science and Technology talents project (DPST) which is the center of higher education in the upper south. The mission is to select students, who have good academic performance and interest in science and received a scholarship in the School of Science majoring in computational science, physics, chemistry, biology or mathematics, and statistics. The scholarship program began in 2012 and provides fourteen scholarships per academic year. In addition, the School of Science has an important mission in research development and academic services which focuses on creating new knowledge in science and technology, leading to academic superiority and applied knowledge that is transferable to the community and business in the commercial sector.
The school also promotes learning, developing, and the transfer of knowledge and achievements in science and technology, to the community for social and economic development. School of Science has numerous research publications in international journals such as ISI and SCOPUS database. Additionally, academic staff has presented their research at national and international conferences, and been invited as special lecturers to external agencies. In academic services to the community, the School of Science has performed for more than ten projects which have financial support from external agencies i.e. International Science Olympiads and Astronomy Olympiads, and Junior Science Talent Project (JSTP).